Graduate School of Public Health

The Porter Prize

The Porter Prize is awarded to recognize an individual for exemplary performance in health promotion and disease prevention. Originally established in 1983, the prize has been administered by the Graduate School of Public Health for almost 15 years through a $250,000 gift to the Graduate School of Public Health from the Adrienne and Milton Porter Foundation.  In 2012, the prize was endowed by Lee B. Foster II.

The Porter Prize has created a unique opportunity to welcome distinguished leaders to campus and introduce them to the Pitt Public Health community and the University at large.  In recent years the prize has been awarded to luminaries including Louis W. Sullivan, MD, former secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and founder of the Morehouse School of Medicine, Bill Cosby, EdD, entertainer and educator, Nancy G. Brinker, founder of Susan G. Komen for the Cure.

The Porter Prize was most recently awarded in November 2011, to Françoise Barré-Sinoussi, Nobel Laureate and co-discoverer of the human immunodeficiency virus, HIV. Dr. Barré-Sinoussi, who is pictured here, is the director of the Regulation of Retroviral Infections Unit at the Institut Pasteure.