Cornerstone Society

The Cornerstone Society ($50,000 to $99,999) pays homage to the cornerstone that was hidden in the Cathedral's Commons Room by Chancellor John Bowman in 1937. Among its contents is a simple message, "The Cathedral of Learning expresses for Pittsburgh a desire to live honestly in a world where kindness and the happiness of creating are life."

Membership in the Cornerstone Society honors those who have given $50,000 to $99,999 in a fiscal year.

Commons Room gate

2017 Cornerstone Society Honor Roll

While every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of these records, we encourage our readers to alert the Office of Institutional Advancement of any errors or omissions by calling 412-624-5800 or by e-mailing

Please note that "+" denotes that a donor is being honored posthumously and names in italics indicate that at least one member of the donor household is a proud Pitt alumnus. We also extend special thanks to those corporations that provided matching gifts to increase the support provided by donors indicated with an *.

Anonymous (14)

J. David Barnes, Trustee & +Suzanne R. Barnes

Mr. & Mrs. David E. Barensfeld

Donald R. Beall

+Manfred A. Biondi

Eva Tansky Blum, Esquire, Trustee

Mr. & Mrs. William J. Blechman

James & Noel Browne Charitable Trust

Suzy Broadhurst, Trustee & Jim Broadhurst

Dr. Alexander Chang

Gayle B. Causey

+ Harry M. Crooks

+Joan C. Dash

Randi Dauler

Dellovade Brothers

Mr. & Mrs. Vincent C. Deluzio

+Vivian M. Fisher

Curtis & Kimberly Fleming*

David M. and Sandra K. Freeman

Drs. Renée K. & Richard M. Goldman

Cathie & Mike Haberman Family

Bob & Pat Henry

H. Rowena Herring Family

Dennis Heindl

Dawne S. Hickton, Trustee & David J. Hickton

Lawrence P. Holleran & Kathleen N. Holleran

Mr. & Mrs. William R. Johnson

Richard J. Kruzynski

+Joseph C. Lang, Jr

+Dr. C.C. Li

Alice A. Lloyd

Ms. Roberta Ann Luxbacher, Trustee & Mr.  Steve Alaniz*

Sheldon Marstine

Carolyn C. Massaro

+Janice A. Mendelson, MD

Mr. Frederick R. Nicely Jr. & Mr. C. Douglas Forker

Joseph Novogratz

Terri & Jim Polacheck

Dr. Roland Thomas Ramsay

Gary & Anita Rathburn

+Paul M. Rike, M.D.

+Ambassador Daniel M. Rooney

Helen B. Schratz

Stewart Sell, MD

George R. Shiarella

Richard L. Simmons, MD

+Elva S. Smith

Michael Stratos

David J. Toth

Nicholas D. Varischetti, Esquire

Michael G. Wells

Joan Wheeler

Mr. & Mrs. Craig Wolfanger

Peter C. Varischetti, Trustee & Sharon M. Varischetti